Michael Daly CJ Blog

A Companion of Jesus

“I live – now not I – But Christ lives in me”. (Galatians 2:20)

Christians in China are still suffering torture, persecution and death daily. Please continue to pray for them and for those pastors and missionaries who continue to shepherd and feed the flock entrusted to them. The Chinese government tries to restrict Christians meeting together outside the government-sanctioned organizations and registered places of worship. All unregistered groups including House Churches are repressed and persecuted. Both Catholic and Protestant.

Pastor Simon Zhao, originally from Shenyang in China, undertook evangelistic work back in the late 1940s. He and his wife went to Xinjiang in far northwest China around 1949. He was arrested for his faith in 1951 and suffered much. His wife died in prison in 1960 but Simon did not receive this news until 1973. He was released in the early 1980s. Simon kept on being the Pastor and evangelist he had been called to be and wrote many poems and hymns which have continued to be a source of hope and encouragement. The following hymn written in 1983 is seen by many as a powerful expression of the many years of suffering which Chinese Christians have endured.

Michael Daly. CJ

 

Bitter Cup.

Bitter cup, bitter cup,

The bitter cup of the Lord which is hard to drink

Silently obeying the Heavenly Father

Bitterness enters the bone.

 

In Gethsemane he sweated as if bleeding – for whom?

He bore the pain of whipping – for whom?

 

He went to death, Cross on back – for whom?

He was butchered like a lamb, without a cry –for whom?

 

He was deserted by God’s people and nailed to the Cross – for whom?

In obedience he shed his last drop of blood – for whom?

 

Chorus:

Bitter cup, bitter cup – for me! For me!

 

The following prayer is from John Gabriel Perboyre, C.M. a Roman Catholic Vincentian missionary to China who was martyred in 1840 for his faith in Jesus, his Divine Saviour.

 

 

O my Divine Saviour

Transform me into Yourself.

May my hands be the hands of Jesus.

May my tongue be the tongue of Jesus.

Grant that every faculty of my body

May serve only to glorify you.

Above all,

Transform my soul and all its powers

So that my memory, will and affections

May be the memory, will and affections

Of Jesus.

I pray to you

To destroy in me

All that is not of you.

Grant that I may live

But in You, by You and for You,

So that I may truly say with St. Paul,

“I live now, not I,

“But Christ lives in me.”

Amen

April 3, 2009 - Posted by | Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

