Michael Daly CJ Blog

A Companion of Jesus

To be a priest. The yearning of a Childs heart.

When I was a little lad I wanted to be a priest. Not only did I want to be one but I felt Jesus wanted me to be one. I survived Bronchial Pneumonia five times and then a collapsed lung and near to death, I still wanted to be a priest and I knew Jesus wanted me to be one too.

I left school and worked for a year in London before going on off to Seminary where I studied for my dream to become a reality. It didn’t work out, as I did not know who I was, nor did I know the God who called me. My God loved me as conditionally as everyone else. If I did the right thing he loved me and blest me, if I did the wrong thing ….I was no longer loveable…condemned.

“Hope Deferred is sickness to the heart” (Proverbs 13:12a)

Oh how I wish I knew then what I now know some 38 years on. God didn’t love me conditionally He loved me and loves me still,UNCONDITIONALLY!

I am now a priest (1 Peter 2:9) and I minister to all whom I meet. Some are broken, some are lost, some are lonely, and some are frightened, some, like me back then, see only a conditional lover.

I am privileged to have been in so many lost places and formed by so many trials. I am still being transformed, into the image of Christ who manifests in me his presence, so that others may be blessed. My life is hidden in Christ, I no longer live but Christ lives in me! (Galatians 2:20)

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” (James 1: 2-4)

“a longing fulfilled is a tree of life” (Proverbs 13: 12b)

May your longings be fulfilled!

Live Loved.

Michael Daly
July 2009
Living Loved

July 17, 2009 - Posted by | Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

