Michael Daly CJ Blog

A Companion of Jesus

Comfort my people

Thoughts on Isaiah. 40: 1-5

Comfort – comfort my people
Says the Lord
Comfort the comfortless
Comfort the broken
Comfort the hurting

Speak words of mercy
Over the condemnatory lie and
Tenderly raise up the fallen children of Eve,
Enfold them in loves embrace

Dance with them
As water in a desert
Ushers in new life.
Comfort – comfort my people
Says the Lord.

But How O Lord
Do I break the rock that is my heart?
What hammer may impart
Such a blow to penetrate its
Callused shell?

Comfort – comfort my people
says the Lord
For I came to serve and give my life –
The way –
in which you too must – walk.
Follow me!

And love will make straight the way
for me to enter in.
And love will be a highway
Paved with grace upon grace
That breaks the callused heart of stone.
So that I may therein dwell.

And every valley shall be raised in love
And every mountain laid low in love
And every heart that’s bound
Shall be released in love’s shared song
wherein your broken and wounded soul shall be released.

Comfort – comfort my people
Says the Lord.

…..And the glory of the Lord will be revealed.

Michael Daly
July 2009

July 31, 2009 - Posted by | Poems

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

