Michael Daly CJ Blog

A Companion of Jesus

Quo Vadis?

I recently attended a talk where the speaker told the apocryphal tale of Peter who whilst trying to escape from Rome, met Jesus on the road, who (heading into Rome) asked Peter, “Where are you going?” (“Quo Vadis”) Peter knew then he must go back and not run away from his destiny. He returns to Rome and is arrested and martyred for his faith. This was his calling and he could not escape it if he were to remain faithful.

Where are you going?

It is sometimes hard for me to accept the road I am called to walk. I have already had much pain and sorrow and have run as far as I can to escape it and myself. It seems clear to me that being a Christian is no easy matter. But then any true relationship is no easy matter. I think of the wonderful twenty-one and half years I had in marriage, before my wife died. They were not all lovey-duvey days! They were however real and we grew in our love for one another as we learnt to live and share our every moment. Sometimes I am certain my wife Sue, would have liked me to take a long walk off a short plank! (I’m sorry but there is no saint here!) I know there were times when I would have wished the same. But, through all those few years we had together, we lived and loved one another through (and in) all our messiness. I am reminded of a tale of a Jewish couple. The husband was being interviewed on Tel Aviv television having celebrated 60 years of marriage. The interviewer asked him, (as only interviews would) “Mr Cohen, in all these years of marriage, didn’t you ever think of Divorce?” Mr Cohen replied, (quickly and sharply) “Divorce! Never! Murder!..Often! He was madly in love with his wife, though they had at times found themselves walking in the opposite direction.

Where are you going?

Are you madly in love with God? Do you have days when you find yourself walking in the opposite direction from Him. I certainly do and I don’t think I am alone. But as when my wife and I found ourselves going the opposite direction, we turned around so we could walk again together. Sometimes this may mean you need to say sorry. Sometimes it may mean you have to forgo your desires or wishes for theirs. It always means serving rather than being served. Paul in his first letter to the Corinthians says such love is like this. If you are madly in love with Jesus (God) your love will be a Love that never gives up.

Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,

Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end. Love never dies (The Message By Eugene Peterson)

Where are you going?

It may be a question for those married couples who are walking the opposite direction from each other. It may be a question for those contemplating marriage. It is the crucial question for Christians who are running away from their calling. Just as Peter in the apocryphal tale was running away from the pain of crucifixion when he knew he had to take up his cross and follow his master. So often we too need to see that our master walks in the opposite direction and we need to get in step with Him and so turn around. To love truly means laying down our needs, our wants, our life for the one we love.

Where are you going?

Michael Daly
August 2009

August 10, 2009 - Posted by | Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

