Michael Daly CJ Blog

A Companion of Jesus

The truth will set you free.

Jesus declared himself to be the truth. (Jn 14.6 ) He confronted the lie that we had for so long harkened to. So much of my life has been dominated by the lie. I would much rather cover up my nakedness, than be exposed (Gen 3.7) to the God, who is The Truth.

The word ‘truth’ in Greek is Alethea and it means unconcealed, uncovered or exposed. If I really desire to walk in the truth and live in it, then I will live an unconcealed, exposed (open) life. What so often happens is that I walk in darkness so as not to be exposed. My life is full of hidden things, which I don’t want others to see and especially God. Even if I deny God, I can still live hiding behind masks, which I make to cover my real self. I perform like actors on a stage, hiding my real (naked) self from view. I perform and worship the idol I have created. As Greg Boyd said at a recent event in the UK, “When we don’t get life from God, we try to get it from idols…. Whatever representation of God you have in your head, will be the god you project and worship”.

What is your picture of God?

Jesus reveals the heart of God. He loves me unconditionally, completely and forever. His love casts out fear. (Fear is to do with punishment. (1 Jn 4.18)) He calls me, not to punish me, but to set me free from the prison others and I have made. His desire is for me and he calls me to go to him. (Mt 11.28) What is stopping me today, this very moment, from walking in freedom as a child of God? Is it a performance mindset? Guilt, shame, doubts? Don’t know? Don’t care? Is it that I’ve listened for too long to the lie, about God and about myself?

The truth will, indeed, set you free; not words, not therapies, not addictions, not conditions, not promises, not pills or potions, only the truth!

“When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am the one I claim to be and that I do nothing on my own but speak just what the Father has taught me. The one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what pleases him.” Even as he spoke, many put their faith in him. To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (Jn 8.28-31)

A true picture of God leads to a true picture of you.

Live loved

Michael Daly
Sept 2009

September 3, 2009 - Posted by | Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

