Michael Daly CJ Blog

A Companion of Jesus

Going home by a different way…..

In Matthews gospel we read of the Magi who came from the East to find the messiah. We  read how they being warned in a dream not to return by the same way (that is via Herod) go home by another way. (Matthew 2. 12)

I have for almost 57 years approached my going home from Christmas into the New Year the same way…over and over again. I have made my resolutions and promises ….only to find that very shortly I break them and find myself back on the same way as always…desiring to go home to the place of true peace where I may dwell…. but unable to get there as I collide with a type of Herod who continually wants to destroy not only my peace but the life of Christ in me.

So this year I propose to go back another way. I will enter the New Year with no resolutions or promises.(Which I know I will not keep) I will not go back the way I have for over half a century. I am compelled to heed the warning. I have found the Christ and I must now return home with the good news…by another way.

As a pilgrim amongst other pilgrims. I must go home, to the place where my heart is at rest and to the place where my pilgrimage started. It began in the place of the grace of God and it ends in the same place with the grace of God. As someone once said to me, ‘home is in the journey’.

The wise men were warned not to return home by the same way, but to return by another way. They had found the one and only way and the warning which is written in the scriptures is written so that we too might be warned and enlightened. “A lamp to our feet and a light to our path.” (Psalm 119.105)

I pray that I may enter the new year by another way, the way of love expressed perfectly in the person of Jesus, born in time, in a Bethlehem stable over 2000 years ago. “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.

Herod in the Christmas story is the very antithesis of all that God desires, he is an image of Satan. Herod had no love of the world or of God, only of himself. His desire was to condemn the world to darkness and he sought to destroy the child Jesus, destroying all infants up to two years of age. Jesus comes bringing us new life. I believe that when Jesus was born the prophecy of Ezekiel was fulfilled, mankind had their stone hearts removed in Christ and received new hearts of flesh. In Jesus God says, “ I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules.” All scripture points to him and in Him all prophecy is fulfilled. (John 5.39 and Luke 24.44).

I pray that as you enter into 2011, you too might leave Christmas 2010 by another way; “.by the new and living way that he opened for us through the curtain, that is, through his flesh”. (Hebrews.10.20)

Happy New Year!

 

 

Michael Daly

30th December 2010

December 30, 2010 - Posted by | Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

