Michael Daly CJ Blog

A Companion of Jesus

“Do not let your hearts be troubled…..Pt 2” A Slice of Daly bread from 2008

It is quite difficult for me to find a quiet space in my home. The boys love their music and noisy games and every room is playing something different. Then there are the visitors…with their own music or games…..Daly life seems very busy and noisy! Through all this cacophony I find I can’t hear myself think, so I have to take myself off for a walk into the countryside or along the beach, to find that sacred space where I can be still and hear the voice of God. Even here I find I have so much running around in my head, that it seems almost impossible task to, “Be still and know that I am God” (Ps:46.10)

When I was young we had to learn a Catechism (a small booklet which set out the basic tenets of the faith). The first question asked was, “Why did God make you?” The answer was, “To know Him, to love Him and to serve Him”.  I have often looked back and thought these were wise instructions. If we are to serve God..we must first love him and we cannot love him …until we know him.

How do we get to know him?

The great Jewish prayer known as the ‘Shema’ calls Israel to ‘hear’, to ‘listen’.

(Shema in Hebrew means Listen or Hear).  “Shema Israel:…”  “Hear O Israel:…” (Deut: 6.4)

Hearing is the first step in us having healthy hearts! But hearing / listening is not something passive and is quite difficult. In my previous work counseling victims of crime, listening became a doorway whereby the victim could share their deepest feelings and thoughts and I could properly receive. To truly hear  I had to put aside my personal thoughts and ideas (no matter how good and great they may have been).  I had to put aside those many important tasks and matters that cluttered my life and desk and give space to the other. I sometimes wanted to interrupt them, to interject with some philosophical, practical or wise thought…but I had to silence my own tongue and open my ears.

Jesus wants us to have healthy hearts and so he calls us to listen to him. If we have ears…let us hear! (Mt 4:23)  We must come to God, putting aside (casting off) our wants and desires (no matter how good and great they maybe). We must come firstly as those who will listen to His voice. The servant who loved his master and wanted to remain in his service as a bond servant forever was taken by his master and his ear was pierced. (Exodus 21: 5-6; Deut 15:16 – 17) We need our ear pierced if we are to know, love and serve the Lord. The priests when anointed for service in the book of Exodus chapter 29, first had the blood of the sacrifice put on their ear lobe, before their thumb and toe. Another sign that the Lord requires their hearing before anything else. The Holy Spirit who has been given to us as “another counselor” (Jn.4:16) can only counsel us if we are willing to listen, and hear what He says,  “Let him who has ears, let him hear what the Spirit is saying”. (Rev 2: 7//11//17//28.  + 3: 6//13//27)

Listening is essential for healthy hearts…and so is diet!

Next time we shall see why the Word (the bible) is also essential for a healthy heart.

“For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart”. (Heb 4:12)

Michael Daly. C. J.

2008

August 18, 2012 - Posted by | Thoughts | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

