Michael Daly CJ Blog

A Companion of Jesus

……and the Lord has rejected you as king over Israel!

I have written about religious abusive systems and persons in the past. These were mostly in reference to those I had in the past met or had in some way been familiar with through books or articles. Today, I write about those whom I have walked closely with, who were anointed and sent to feed the flock. I write with sadness, aware that their failure in the end could so easily be mine. I write this not to judge but to warn.

When a pastor, priest, leader becomes more focused on their ministry, their rights, their needs, their position, when they are more concerned about counting the sheep than feeding them, when they are more caught up with their positional power and so fail to follow their master who washed the feet of the disciples, when they no longer serve the flock in their care but demand obedience and unquestioning allegiance, twisting the scriptures to fit their paradigm rather than allowing the Word of God to transform their paradigm…I believe the Lord regrets anointing them just as He did king Saul! (1 Sam 15:26)

I have sadly seen good men die spiritually as they have drowned in their ever growing egocentric sin, which has been allowed to twist their heart. They still go through the motions of being a leader, a pastor, a priest, but like the pharisee’s of whom Jesus spoke, they are blind guides and they lead people into a pit!

The problem is we can all fall for this lie, that as long as we continue to pray for healing, cast out demons, preach our sermons, build our church communities or home groups and holy huddles, we are fulfilling our calling! The truth is far from this! If we are not living the life of our risen master Jesus..then we are not living! If my life, words and actions do not reflect Christ Jesus, I am but a pretender, and this is not living the Good News, it is living and promoting a lie!

When greed and self aggrandisement becomes the driving force in my life..I will never be satisfied unless I promote my own kingdom..my own vision..though I call it, God’s! There will be continual rifts in fellowship which I will blame other for..there will be no true spirituality amongst the flock as it will be all controlled by me and manipulated to suit my need(s) and desires!

Sadly…When a pastor, priest, leader becomes more focused on their ministry, their rights, their needs, their position, when they are more concerned about counting the sheep than feeding them, when they are more caught up with their positional power and so fail to follow their master who washed the feet of the disciples, when they no longer serve the flock but abuse those in their care, their friends and family, demanding obedience and unquestioning allegiance, twisting the scriptures to fit their narcissistic ego centred paradigm, rather than allowing the Word of God to transform their paradigm…I believe..the Lord regrets anointing them just as He did king Saul!

+Br. Michael Daly CJ

October 5, 2015 - Posted by | Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

